Cedar Valley Arboretum & Botanic Gardens

Arboretum Update

leave a comment »

This cold, wet weather has forced me inside.  It has been a busy spring in the gardens and I’ve gotten behind in my blogging – I’m glad to catch up with you all this afternoon!

Congratulations to Green Scene on another successful plant sale!  I stopped by Friday evening to buy a few shade plants for my home garden and was excited to see the building bustling with people buying plants.  Every year I am amazed at the variety and quality of plants for sale – if you did not make it this year, I encourage you to mark your 2011 calendar!

The Head House is bursting with plant material waiting for sunny, warm weather!  A shipment of annuals for the Enabling Garden and perennials for the Rose Garden arrived last week from Swift’s Nursery in Gilman, Iowa.  I had the opportunity to tour the facility a few weeks ago and was blown away by the quantity and quality of annuals (herbs, too) and perennials available for wholesale.  After the gardens are planted, I will post more information about our new plants.

If you have visited the grounds lately, you have noticed yellow caution tape up in the Rose Garden.  Construction will soon be underway on our new pergola.  Like with most big construction jobs, there have been a few bumps in the road but we hope to start building soon.  If you enjoy woodworking and would like to volunteer with pergola construction in the next few weeks, please let me know!

See you in the gardens.

Written by cedarvalleyarboretum

May 10, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

