Cedar Valley Arboretum & Botanic Gardens

Wine & Scarecrows

leave a comment »

Are you getting excited about our upcoming Fall Harvest Festival weekend?  I sure am!  Below is a great article about our Saturday evening featured artist, Deb Eworldt. 

Have you purchased your Wine & Scarecrows ticket yet?? 🙂

 

Wine & Scarecrows

As a child, welding artist Deb Ewoldt ran barefoot through her dad’s machine shop in rural Dysart, not afraid of the sparks flying from his welder. “I grew up with it,” Ewoldt says, “and it never occurred to me to be afraid. It’s part of me.”

Ewoldt, owner of Blacksmith Boutique & Garden Studio in Dysart, is the featured artist at this year’s annual Wine & Scarecrows fund raiser at the Cedar Valley Arboretum & Botanic Gardens on Saturday, Sept. 18. Ewoldt, whose appearance is underwritten by Waterloo Implement, has donated a rose sculpture for auction and has created as a limited edition of iron cattails for the garden. Proceeds will benefit the Arboretum.

Ewoldt opened her business in 2006 in the former Barnes & Brinkmeyer Hardware Store and she credits the Arboretum for helping launch her career. The Arboretum commissioned Ewoldt to create a decorative archway over the entrance of the Children’s Garden and it was installed in 2008. Now, a steady stream of customers browse her studio and she says she regularly has more than 10 commissioned pieces on order.

“For 15 years I dabbled around in dad’s shop, Luze Manufacturing, but I never thought my dabbling could turn into this,” Ewoldt says. “I’m self-taught and I truly believe my talent is a gift from God. I don’t think it’s something I could have learned or something someone could show me. I ‘see’ a piece before I make it.”

Ewoldt’s creations come from donated scraps of metal and iron. Most days there are anonymous donations of scrap at her studio door, but she also picks up abandoned scrap she sees in roadside ditches. “I’m a shameless scavenger,” she admits. “I can look beyond the rust and see wonderful texture and color – the scrap has a story.”

Requests for speaking engagements have come her way, Ewoldt says, now that word has spread of her unique art. Ewoldt doesn’t consider herself a public speaker, but passion for her art and interest in helping other new female entrepreneurs inspire her. “But I do always pray before I speak – sometimes I’m afraid of what will come out of my mouth!” she laughs.

Customers buy Ewoldt’s art for display inside and outside. Recent large commissions include pieces for the Scottish Rite Park Retirement Community in Des Moines and Bremwood Home in Waverly. She also collaborates with fellow Dysart artists. She and paper artist Julie McLaughlin of McJulie Studios have created metal and handmade paper pieces, and Ewoldt works with Robin Werner, owner of Isabelle Originals and Ivy Threads to make a fabric line they call Rusty Yards.

Ewoldt will be demonstrating her art through the evening of Wine & Scarecrows. The event will also include appetizers, wine, a pork meal and dessert. Vocalist Deb Flammang-Roper will entertain guests throughout the evening and a silent auction will be held with donations from business including Hy-Vee Floral, Basket of Daisies, Wells Hollow Landscaping, Design Studio, Bancrofts, Wapsie Pines Landscaping, UNI Panther Athletics, Harmony House, Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center and artists Lindsay Maynard, Bill Schuerman, and Bill Close. Tickets are available on line at http://cedarvalleyarboretum.org, by calling (319) 226-4966 or by emailing office@cedarvalleyarboretum.org

Written by cedarvalleyarboretum

August 31, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

