Cedar Valley Arboretum & Botanic Gardens

Is this Heaven? No, it’s the Mennonite Greenhouses.

leave a comment »

With help from the Arboretum’s Planning & Operations Committee, I go about filling our Enabling Garden, Children’s Garden and containers with colorful annuals each year.  And every winter members of P&O tell me that I just have to get over to the Mennonite Greenhouses near Charles City.  These greenhouses have been bragged about for so long that I was starting to believe it was all just talk – until I saw for myself last week.

 

Oh.  My.  Gosh.  In all four greenhouses we visited, I just walked around with my mouth open.

   

The quality of plant blew me over.  AND the prices couldn’t be beat – much of what I saw was cheaper than what I could purchase wholesale!  The photos here are just a peak at what I saw.

 

Want to visit for yourself?  Here are the greenhouses we visited:

Deerfield Greenhouse

641-394-2934

From Hwy 18, take Cheyenne Avenue 5 miles North

Underwood Greenhouse

641-228-2063

1120 Underwood Avenue; 10 miles north of Charles City and 6 miles south of New Haven

Hoover’s Greenhouse

1680 Cheyenne Avenue; 3 miles north of Hwy 18 in Ionia

641-394-3233

Oak Grove Greenhouse (My favorite!)

641-364-9003

1040 Exeter Avenue; from Alta Vista 2 miles west, ½ north

I’m hoping to get my annuals planted early next week – stay tuned for photos!

See you in the gardens.

Written by cedarvalleyarboretum

May 14, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

