Cedar Valley Arboretum & Botanic Gardens

Garden Walk: Hearst Center for the Arts

leave a comment »

I’ve mentioned before that one of my favorite gardens in Cedar Falls is tucked in behind the Hearst Center for the Arts at 304 West Seerley Boulevard.  The space has an un-manicured, no-fuss feel with several flowerbeds filled with natural plantings that make the space feel cozy and inviting.  I love to meet friends for picnic lunches on their sunny patio or just take a quick stroll along their paths.

   

(click on photos for larger view)

The gardens are fading for the season, but it is still a great place to visit on a sunny fall day because of the wonderful signage found throughout the garden.  The center has placed James Hearst’s poem in several pockets of the garden – the above center photo shows one of those signs along the path to the right.

Here is one of the poems you can find in the garden:

 

The Gardener

When in the sun and armed with shears

and gloves I know begin to strip

the garden’s bed where frost has lain

this autumn day snip by snip

 

 

I trim the hedge, I rake the leaves,

I dig bulbs, pile dead vine and stalk

in basket after basket full

to carry and burn, I turn and walk

 

 

past clumps of asters still in bloom

as still blooms grief I have to keep-

I wish I knew how I could choose

what heart will need when love’s asleep.

 

 

I spy a patch of grass still green,

a hawk draws circles in the sky,

but slant rays of the sun at noon

warn me to put the summer buy.

 

 

Spring seems to shimmer in the air

No farther than the coat I shed,

But in my bones I feel a chill

Not of today but what’s ahead.

 

 

James Hearst, 1971

 

 

Hope you will visit this garden soon – it is worth the trip any season!

See you in the gardens.

Written by cedarvalleyarboretum

October 26, 2011 at 6:49 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

